BONDFIRES

A movement to eradicate racism together

WORKING THROUGH BILL168-My Story cont’d

“As far as I was concerned the matter was far from being closed!”

 

I ran into the parking lot just in time to see the back lights of the Executive Directors car driving down the hill.  I yelled for her to stop but, she kept going. I walked back to the office and noticed two of my co-workers and a student look at my face then quickly look away.  I went into my office, closed the door and picked up the report.  It was only one page with two stark paragraphs…

After a careful investigation into your allegations of bullying and harassment by your Supervisor, the independent investigator has reported the issues of conflict to be the following: 1) You do not have enough education to do your job 2) Conflicts with your Supervisor arise because you refuse to  comply with your supervisors directives 3)Your claims of bullying and harassment  have been imagined.

Given the findings of this independent investigator  this agency has fulfilled all requirements under our Conflict Resolution Policy and all the requirements of Bill 168. My recommendation to you would be to comply with your Supervisors directives and to cease all claims and allegations of  bullying and harassment immediately.  I now consider this matter closed.

 I could feel heat rising through me as I folded the report and put it back in the envelope. I was beyond tears, angry. Since when was my education an issue of bullying and harassment? Equally random was the suggestion of not complying with my Supervisor’s directives when the initial issue came out of an attempt to support her? Finally,  for more than a month I had been violated and when I asked for help i’m basically being told to shut up!  And loosing money from my pay, being excluded from meetings, being micro-managed, ostracized, humiliated in front of my co-workers and all the other cruel and twisted forms of abuse, discrimination and harassment  is just my imagination!  As far as I was concerned the matter was far from being closed! …TO BE CONTINUED

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “WORKING THROUGH BILL168-My Story cont’d

  1. I believe that your story is very important as me and my workplace office have experienced a simliar situation. We are social service workers as well and are being abused and discriminated in the workplace. We have absolutely no protection under Bill 168. Our Union did nothing to support us but in fact, supported managment in their campaign to bully an office. All because, like yourself , we wanted the bullying to stop. The Ministry of Labour was called in and did a biased investigation in an attempt to cover up management’s abuse of power. Your voice is extremely important as well as any other worker who has experienced similar situations of workplace harassment and bullying. please contact me as there is a movement underway to address all of the issues that you have raised in your blog. If you would like to speak with me about your situation please email me as I would love to share my experience in order to help you and others that find themselves in this situation. Bullying in the workplace is inhumane and enough is enough. We live in Canada for god’s sake and this needs to be exposed. Bill 168 is a farce of a legislation as it is not being enforced. it is a seriously needed legislation but it offers no protection for workers. Further, Unions do not protect their members.

  2. I’m a long time watcher and I just believed I’d drop by and say hello for the very first time. I genuinely like your posts. Thanks http://www.ctctradeshows.com

    • Thank you very much for your comment! I hope you will continue to follow this story. It is more difficult to write than I thought it would be. I think most adults who have been the target of this type of abuse suffer in silence. I hope you will contribute to developing strategies to to stop workplace violence.
      Thank you for visiting BONDFIRES!

Leave a Reply

